Research and documentation


The Carl Schlettwein Foundation funds documentation and research projects on Namibia and southern Africa. Individual proposals are considered vis-à-vis other projects and structures funded or slated for funding by the Foundation. Details on how to apply may be found under

____________________________________________________________________________

Cataloguing existing collections and creating new ones 


____________________________________________________________________________

Of particular interest are projects that strive to process archival materials or to create new collections and therewith make them available to scholars, the general public and future generations. Such projects typically include a component of imparting knowledge – the processed materials are usually transferred to the Basler Afrika Bibliographien and the National Archives of Namibia in Windhoek 

Networking
Another focus is on projects that bring together existing academic structures and networks; these aim to position and strengthen Foundation-supported structures, such as the Basler Afrika Bibliographien and the University of Basel’s Centre for African Studies, in other academic and non-academic settings.

Forschung und Dokumentation


Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung unterstützt Dokumentations- und Forschungsvorhaben mit einem Fokus auf Namibia und das südliche Afrika. Einzelne Vorhaben werden dabei in Bezug zu anderen Projekt- und Strukturfinanzierungen der Stiftung gesetzt. Details zur Gesuchseingabe finden sich unter Kontakt/Forschung und Dokumentation

_______________________________________________________________________

Aufarbeitung bestehender und Erschliessen neuer Bestände

____________________________________________________________________________

Von besonderem Interesse sind Projekte, die eine Aufarbeitung von Archivmaterialien anstreben oder neue Bestände erarbeiten und diese der Wissenschaft, der interessierten Öffentlichkeit und den kommenden Generationen zugänglich machen. Diese Projekte sind üblicherweise mit einem Vermittlungsteil ausgestattet, die erarbeiteten Materialien werden in der Regel den Basler Afrika Bibliographien und den National Archives of Namibia in Windhoek übergeben. 

Networking
Ein weiteres Augenmerk liegt auf Projekten, die bestehende wissenschaftliche Strukturen und Netzwerke zusammenbringen; mit dem Ziel, die von der Stiftung (mit-)aufgebauten Strukturen, wie die Basler Afrika Bibliographien und das Zentrum für Afrikastudien der Universität Basel in einem weiteren akademischen - und nichtakademischen - Umfeld zu positionieren und zu stärken.