Scholarships


The Carl Schlettwein Foundation awards scholarships to Namibian students enrolled at a university in southern Africa, following submission of an application by relevant teaching staff. Recipients are provided a platform to showcase their work and network with others. Details on how to apply may be found under Contact / Scholarship applications.

____________________________________________________________________________
 

Scholarships for Namibian students in southern Africa

  
____________________________________________________________________________
 
Preserving history
One of Carl Schlettwein’s original goals was to promote Namibian self-knowledge by preserving history and people’s memories of the past. Thus, the Carl Schlettwein Foundation has traditionally provided support to historians as well as archivists and librarians. Over time, its supportive efforts have expanded to include, in particular, ethnology, anthropology, sociology, political science and pedagogy.

Multiplier effect of scholarships
The Carl Schlettwein Foundation has long sought to ensure that participants’ growing knowledge in turn benefits Namibian society and the wider region. It strives to ensure that the resources it invests achieve a multiplier effect, extending far beyond the personal career path of individual recipients to support the development of the entire nation.

A crucial part of such efforts is that of proactively addressing the issue of brain drain – the loss of skills, capacity and knowledge to other places and regions. Statistics clearly show that studying abroad significantly influences students’ future decisions about where to live, work and reside long term. The Carl Schlettwein Foundation strives to counter brain drain by explicitly supporting students in southern Africa and not awarding scholarships to students studying at universities outside the region.

Cooperation with institutions in southern Africa
The Carl Schlettwein Foundation is based in Basel, Switzerland, and is thus geographically far removed from southern Africa. Its geographic separation can complicate communication and student assessment. However, the presence and work of cooperating teaching staff in southern Africa compensates for this. For this reason, scholarships are only granted to students based on submission of an application by relevant teaching staff. 

This facilitates development of an ongoing cooperation and dialogue between the Carl Schlettwein Foundation and teaching staff in southern Africa, with the aim of identifying worthy scholarship candidates in addition to strengthening the networks and resources of structures developed by the Carl Schlettwein Foundation.

Mutual interest
Both sides share an interest in and motivation towards collaboration: The institutions in southern Africa receive funding opportunities on behalf of their students as well as access to an international network and greater visibility for their work via the structures of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation. This ensures the quality of the work funded and students selected as well as assessment and supervision by trusted staff onsite, which in turn mutually benefits the various activities and projects sponsored by the Carl Schlettwein Foundation.

All scholarship-supported works are collected by the Basler Afrika Bibliographien and thus made available to the public and research community. Especially notable scholarly works may even be published by the Basler Afrika Bibliographien Publishing House as a monograph or within one of its series.

An alumni list is available here.

Stipendien


Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung vergibt auf Antrag der zuständigen Lehrpersonen Stipendien für namibische Studierende, die an einer Universität im südlichen Afrika immatrikuliert sind. Den beteiligten Personen wird eine Plattform zur Präsentation ihrer Arbeiten und zur Vernetzung geboten. Details zur Eingabe von Gesuchen finden sich unter Kontakt/Stipendien. 
___________________________________________________________________________

Stipendien für namibische Studierende im südlichen Afrika

____________________________________________________________________________
  
Bewahrung der Geschichte
Eines der ursprünglichen Ziele von Carl Schlettwein ist die Förderung des namibischen Selbstverständnisses durch die Bewahrung der Geschichte und der Erinnerungen daran. Aus diesem Grund fördert die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung traditionellerweise Historiker, aber auch Archivare und Bibliothekare. Dies hat sich im Lauf der Zeit auf weitere Gebiete der Geisteswissenschaften ausgedehnt, so dass insbesondere auch Ethnologie, Anthropologie, Soziologie, Politikwissenschaften und Erziehungswissenschaften in den Bereich der geförderten Bereiche gekommen sind.
 
Multiplikatoren-Funktion der Stipendien
Seit jeher ist es der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung ein Anliegen, die sich entwickelnden Fähigkeiten wiederum der namibischen Gesellschaft und der ganzen Region zu Gute kommen zu lassen, und dafür zu sorgen, dass die eingesetzten Mittel eine Multiplikatorfunktion erhalten und weit über das persönliche Schicksal und die Bestimmung eines einzelnen Stipendiaten hinaus auf die Entwicklung einer ganzen Nation Auswirkungen haben können. 

Ein entscheidender Teil hierzu ist die proaktive Auseinandersetzung mit der Problematik des Brain Drain, dem Verlust von Fähigkeiten, Kapazitäten und Wissen an andere Gebiete und Regionen. Statistiken zeigen ein klares Bild, dass Studien im Ausland einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die  künftigen Entscheide zu Wohn- und Arbeitssuche, und damit auf die entsprechenden Lebensmittelpunkte haben. Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung wirkt dem entgegen, in dem sie explizit nur Studierende im südlichen Afrika fördert, und keine Stipendien für Studierende an Universitäten ausserhalb dieser Region vergibt.
 
Zusammenarbeit mit Institutionen im südlichen Afrika
Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung ist in Basel in der Schweiz domiziliert und damit weit vom südlichen Afrika entfernt. Diese räumliche Distanz erschwert die Kommunikation sowie die Evaluation von Studierenden. Dies wird durch die Präsenz und die Arbeit der Lehrpersonen ausgeglichen. Daher werden Stipendien nur auf Antrag der Lehrpersonen für ausgewählte Studierende gesprochen. 

Dies ermöglicht den Aufbau einer kontinuierlichen Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation zwischen der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung und den Lehrpersonen im südlichen Afrika, mit dem Ziel unterstützungswürdige Studierende zu erreichen und gleichzeitig die Netzwerke und die Bestände der durch die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung aufgebauten Strukturen zu stärken.
 
Gegenseitige Motivation
Das Interesse und die Motivation für diese Zusammenarbeit geht von beiden Seiten aus: Die Institutionen im südlichen Afrika erhalten Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten im Interesse ihrer Studierenden sowie eine internationale Vernetzung und Sichtbarkeit der Arbeiten durch die Strukturen der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung. Diese sichert ihrerseits die Qualität der geförderten Arbeiten und Studierenden über die Beurteilung und die Betreuung durch Vertrauenspersonen vor Ort und ermöglicht dadurch den unterschiedlichen Fördergebieten der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung eine gegenseitige Befruchtung. 

So werden alle aus den Stipendien entstehenden Arbeiten in den Basler Afrika Bibliographien gesammelt und damit einer Öffentlichkeit und der Wissenschaft zur Verfügung gestellt. Speziell ansprechende Arbeiten können im Rahmen der Verlagstätigkeiten der Basler Afrika Bibliographien als Monographien oder in Reihen publiziert werden.

Eine Auflistung der Alumni findet sich hier.