Basler Afrika Bibliographien



The Basler Afrika Bibliographien (BAB) was founded by Carl Schlettwein in 1971, and has been led by the Carl Schlettwein Foundation since 1994. It is a documentation centre on Namibia and southern Africa. Its books and documents on Namibia are of international renown, and are known among experts as the most comprehensive documentation outside of Namibia itself.

____________________________________________________________________________

Documentation centre specialising in Namibia


____________________________________________________________________________

Its exclusive holdings include a collection of rare books with volumes on Africa going back to the 16th century, a large collection of African posters and extensive historical archives of images, sound recordings and ephemera. Its collections are complemented by scholarly publication activities and a lively programme of events. 

The Basler Afrika Bibliographien serves as a host and organiser of projects and activities on current research topics, providing teachers and students with access to its collections, thematic expertise and skills.

In addition, the Basler Afrika Bibliographien features a diverse programme of events on cultural and socio-political issues, opening up its collections on Namibia and southern Africa to the general public and engaging them in a stimulating dialogue.

For more on the Basler Afrika Bibliographien visit www.baslerafrika.ch

Basler Afrika Bibliographien



Die Basler Afrika Bibliographien wurden 1971 von Carl Schlettwein gegründet und werden seit 1994 von der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung betrieben. Sie sind ein Dokumentationszentrum zu Namibia und dem südlichen Afrika. International bekannt sind die Bücher und Dokumente zu Namibia, die in Fachkreisen als umfassendste Dokumentation ausserhalb Namibias gelten.

____________________________________________________________________________

Dokumentationszentrum mit Schwerpunkt Namibia

____________________________________________________________________________

Eine Rara-Bibliothek mit Büchern zu Afrika seit dem 16. Jahrhundert, eine grosse Sammlung afrikanischer Plakate und vielschichtige historische Bild-, Ton- und Ephemera-Archive zählen zu den herausragenden Teilsammlungen. Die Bestände werden durch ein wissenschaftliches Verlagsprogramm ergänzt und über ein aktives Veranstaltungsprogramm vermittelt

Die Basler Afrika Bibliographien nehmen - als  Gastgeber oder als Veranstalter - aktuelle wissenschaftliche Themen und Projekte auf und stellen dabei den Forschenden Dozierenden und Studierenden die eigenen Bestände, Themen und Kompetenzen zur Verfügung.

Daneben gestalten die Basler Afrika Bibliographien eine breitgefächertes Veranstaltungsprogramm mit kulturellen und gesellschaftspolitischen Themen und bringen damit ihre Bestände zu Namibia und dem südlichen Afrika ins Gespräch einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit.

Mehr über die Basler Afrika Bibliographien: www.baslerafrika.ch.