University of Basel



The Carl Schlettwein Foundation works closely with the University of Basel’s Centre for African Studies Basel (CASB) to provide support for teaching and research. Their partnership goes back to the Basler Afrika Bibliographien’s establishment as a Namibia Resource Centre / Southern Africa Library and to efforts to fulfil the desire expressed among teachers and students to structurally anchor people’s increasing interest in Africa.

In 2001, the Carl Schlettwein Foundation funded the establishment of the Chair of African History, providing the basis for today’s African Studies programme at the University of Basel. The Carl Schlettwein Foundation continues to fund individual lectureships related to Namibia.

____________________________________________________________________________

Promotion of African Studies at the University of Basel 


____________________________________________________________________________

Collaboration with the Centre for African Studies (CASB) provides the Carl Schlettwein Foundation with the benefits of a strong operational partner capable of coordinating Africa-related teaching activities and events at the University of Basel together with private and public institutions in and outside of Europe. The CASB, in turn, profits from its access to the Basler Afrika Bibliographien’s event infrastructure, archival expertise and library. 

The CASB remains the sole institution in Switzerland offering a master’s and PhD programme in African Studies. Since 2005, CASB has held a distinguished “Carl Schlettwein Lecture” each year in honour of his work. Individual lectures are published in the series Carl Schlettwein Lectures.

In 1997, the University of Basel presented Carl Schlettwein with an honorary doctorate

Universität Basel


Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung arbeitet zur Unterstützung der Lehre & Forschung eng mit dem Zentrum für Afrika Studien der Universität Basel (ZASB)zusammen. Die Partnerschaft  geht zurück auf die Weiterentwicklung das Basler Afrika Bibliographien zu einem Namibian Resource Centre und einer Southern Africa Library sowie dem Wunsch von Dozierenden und Studierenden an der Universität Basel das wachsende Interesse für Afrika strukturell zu festigen.

Die  Carl Schlettwein Stiftung  konnte so 2001 mit der Finanzierung der Professur "Geschichte des südlichen Afrikas" den Grundstein zur Bildung der heutigen African Studies an der Universität Basel legen. 
Die Carl Schlettwein  Stiftung finanziert heute noch einzelne Lehraufträge mit einem Bezug zu Namibia.

____________________________________________________________________________

Förderung der African Studies an der Universität Basel 

____________________________________________________________________________

Mit dem ZASB verfügt das Dokumentationszentrum der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung  über einen starken operativen Partner, der die Afrika bezogene Lehrtätigkeit und die dazugehörigen Lehrveranstaltungen der Universität Basel mit privaten und öffentlichen Instituten in und ausserhalb Europas koordinieren kann. Das Zentrum für Afrikastudien  profitiert seinerseits von der Veranstaltungsinfrastruktur und den Archiv- und Bibliothekskompetenzen der Basler Afrika Bibliographien. 

Das ZASB  ist bis heute die einzige Institution in der Schweiz, die einen Master- oder PhD Studiengang in African Studies anbietet. Das ZASB hält seit 2005 zu Ehren des Engagements von Carl Schlettwein eine jährliche distinguished Carl Schlettwein Lecture und publiziert diese in der Serie Carl Schlettwein Lectures.

1997 verlieh die Universität Basel den Ehrendoktortitel an Carl Schlettwein.