Carl and Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell


Carl Schlettwein was an ardent collector. He loved books; their feel, their look, their smell – lying on the shelf or on the table. He enjoyed the many hours he spent with his beloved books, even when not reading. 

____________________________________________________________________________


Carl Schlettwein : “Collecting is neutral”


____________________________________________________________________________

Carl Schlettwein enjoyed the company of like-minded individuals who shared his passion for books – people who displayed keen interest and enthusiasm in their work with them. And he knew and appreciated the value of books as repositories of information and transmitters of knowledge, ideas, views and opinions. He knew that knowledge stored in books is not lost, but instead remains for future investigation and analysis. 

Knowledge in books influences the view of a nation
He directly experienced the power of books and their ability to prompt social change while growing up in Germany in the 1920s, 30s and 40s, and living in southern Africa for many years after the war. The Third Reich’s book burnings and the politically motivated censorship and acquisition of books by apartheid-era South Africa’s national library, in Pretoria, represented attempts to influence and change people’s frame of reference and political and social opinion. He realised that the internal and external view of a society or a nation is directly shaped by existing knowledge and the information traditionally transmitted in books.

  

Neutral documentation
The quality of documentations lies in the neutrality of the collection, in the attempt to gather materials free of influence from one’s own political view – in this case regarding Namibia. In this way, Carl Schlettwein collected both pamphlets calling for resistance as well as rationalising texts from the perspective of apartheid supporters. Thus, the holdings of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien today include propaganda writings by all opposing parties in the long-running liberation struggle.

Mutual interest in those around them
It was in 1950 at the international student dormitory of the University of Kiel, Germany, that Carl Schlettwein met his future wife, Daniela Gsell, a medical student from Riehen (near Basel), Switzerland. The love they cemented stood the test of many years between Switzerland and South Africa, and still holds following the death of Carl Schlettwein in 2005.

They were united by a genuine interest in the people around them, the joy of true enthusiasm and total commitment. The knowledge and conviction of supporting such a level of dedication, combined with an infectious conviviality, laid the groundwork for a growing circle of friends and acquaintances which, particularly in southern Africa, proved decisive in enabling access to the wide variety of publications and trouvailles now found in the holdings of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien.


Emigration to South Africa
With his emigration to South Africa in 1952 and a growing interest in his new home, Carl Schlettwein began to collect books and information. In the course of his 12-year stay in South Africa and Namibia, he travelled as salesman to all corners of the country, visiting the remotest areas and getting to know social structures from the inside out. In the early 1960s, Daniela Gsell followed him to southern Africa. She was appalled by the societal and political situation there.

Carl and Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell were married in 1963 and returned to Europe for good in 1964 shortly before the birth of their first of three children; they didn’t want their kids to grow up in the apartheid system. Carl Schlettwein had given up his German citizenship for “human and political reasons” after experiencing the World War II, and he finally left South Africa for similar reasons. Obtaining a residency permit in Switzerland for Carl Schlettwein, then a citizen of South Africa, was eventually made possible thanks to former Director of Tourism Paul Gutzwiller, who hired him within the Tourism Office.

Collecting activities in Switzerland – Basler Afrika Bibliographien
His collecting activities continued in Switzerland, and beginning in 1971 Carl Schlettwein could focus on work in the Basler Afrika Bibliographien, which was founded the same year in the medieval “Tscheggenbürlins Hus” at Klosterberg 21 in Basel, where the Carl Schlettwein Foundation is located today. This was made possible thanks to the work, care and resulting wealth of Margarethe and Rudolf Emil Gsell-Busse, parents of Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell; Mr. Gsell-Busse, who died in 1962, was a member of the General Board of Hoffmann-La Roche AG.

In addition to increasing acquisition and publishing activities and providing ongoing support to students, individuals and institutions in South Africa and Namibia, a good deal of effort was invested in developing scholarly structures focused on Africa. In this way, Carl Schlettwein cofounded the Swiss African Society and initiated the Geomethodological Colloquium with Professor Hartmut Leser. The Basler Afrika Bibliographien evolved into a scholarly archive and a specialty library on Namibia and southern Africa: the “Namibia Resource Centre – Southern Africa Library”.

Collaboration with the University of Basel was just a matter of time. In 1997, Carl Schlettwein was granted an honorary doctorate for his achievements on behalf of academic study of Africa. In 2001, the Carl Schlettwein Foundation initiated and funded the Chair of African Studies under Professor Patrick Harries, thus providing the basis for establishment of today’s African Studies programme at the University of Basel. Since 2005, the Centre for African Studies Basel has held a distinguished “Carl Schlettwein Lecture” each year.

Carl Schlettwein Foundation
The Carl Schlettwein Foundation was established in 1994 by Carl and Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell in consultation with and the blessing of their family, and given the mission of carrying on the Basler Afrika Bibliographien and promoting research on Africa, particularly Namibia. It provided a framework for continuation of the collections and expansion of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien’s role and activities as a scholarly archive, specialist library and documentation centre.

The original idea to name it the “Carl and Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell Foundation” was abandoned at the request of Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell. The Carl Schlettwein Foundation spans operation of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien, fostering of academic engagement with southern Africa – both in Basel and internationally – and provision of support to students in southern Africa, bringing them together in a single institutional framework and thus making them independent of individuals.

In 2010, Dr. med. Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell stepped down from her post on the Board of Trustees. However, she continues to accompany and follow the activities of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation and the Basler Afrika Bibliographien with great dedication and keen interest.

Carl und Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell


Carl Schlettwein sammelte, er war Sammler aus Leidenschaft. Er liebte Bücher, ihre Haptik, ihr Aussehen, ihren Geschmack, Bücher im Regal und Bücher auf dem Tisch. Er genoss die Stunden, die er mit seinen geliebten Büchern verbringen durfte, ohne dass er diese in diesem Moment notwendigerweise lesen musste. 

____________________________________________________________________________


Carl Schlettwein :"Sammeln ist neutral"

____________________________________________________________________________

Carl Schlettwein genoss die Gesellschaft gleichgesinnter Menschen, die seine Freude an den Büchern teilten, Menschen, die sich mit Interesse und Begeisterung in die Arbeit mit diesen Büchern vertiefen konnten.Und er kannte und schätzte den Wert von Büchern als Träger von Informationen, als Übermittler von Wissen, Gedanken, Ansichten und Meinungen. Er wusste, dass in Büchern tradiertes Wissen nicht verloren geht, vorhanden bleibt für künftiges Interesse und spätere Auswertung.
 






Wissen in Büchern beeinflusst die Sicht auf eine Nation
Aufgewachsen in Deutschland in den 1920er, 30er und 40er Jahren und nach dem Krieg lange im südlichen Afrika lebend hatte er die Kraft der Bücher und ihr Potential zur sozialen Veränderung direkt erleben dürfen. Die Bücherverbrennungen in dritten Reich wie auch die politisch motivierte Zensur und Aufnahmepolitik der Nationalbibliothek in Pretoria zur Zeit des Apartheidsstaat Südafrika zeigten den Versuch, das Umfeld und die politische wie gesellschaftliche Meinung zu beeinflussen und zu verändern. Er realisierte, dass die innere und äussere Sicht auf eine Gesellschaft, auf eine Nation direkt durch das vorhandene Wissen, durch die traditionellerweise in Büchern übermittelten Informationen beeinflusst werden. 




Neutrale Dokumentation
Die Qualität einer Dokumentation liegt in der Neutralität der Sammlung, in dem Versuch ohne Zensur, ohne Beeinflussung durch die eigene politische Meinung zu sammeln, in diesem Fall zu Namibia. So nahm Carl Schlettwein zum Widerstand aufrufende Kampfschriften ebenso auf wie apologetische Abhandlungen aus Sicht der Apartheidsbefürworter. So finden sich in den Beständen der Basler Afrika Bibliographien heute unter anderem Propagandaschriften von allen Konfliktparteien aus dem jahrelangen Freiheitskampf.

Gemeinsames Interesse für Menschen
Im internationalen Studentenheim der Universität Kiel traf Carl Schlettwein 1950 seine zukünftige Frau Daniela Gsell, eine Medizinstudentin aus Riehen bei Basel in der Schweiz. Es verband sie eine Liebe, die lange Jahre der Distanz zwischen der Schweiz und Südafrika überdauerte, und über den Tod von Carl Schlettwein im Jahre 2005 hinweg anhält.

Sie fanden sich im genuinen Interesse anderen Menschen gegenüber, in der Freude an wahrer Begeisterung und dem Einsatz mit Herzblut. Das Wissen und die Überzeugung einen derartigen Einsatz unterstützen zu wollen, gepaart mit einer ansteckenden Fröhlichkeit, bildete das Fundament für einen wachsenden Freundes- und Bekanntenkreis, der sich insbesondere im südlichen Afrika als zentral für den Zugang zu den vielfältigsten Publikationen und den heutigen Trouvaillen in den Beständen der Basler Afrika Bibliographien erweisen sollte.


Auswanderung nach Südafrika
Mit der Auswanderung nach Südafrika 1952 und dem Interesse für seine neue Heimat begann Carl Schlettwein Bücher und Informationen zu sammeln. Im Laufe seines 12-jährigen Aufenthalts in Südafrika und Namibia reiste er als Vertreter in alle Ecken und Enden des Landes, besuchte die abgelegensten Orte und lernte die sozialen Strukturen von innen heraus kennen. Anfangs 60er Jahre folgte ihm Daniela Gsell ins südliche Afrika. Sie war über die gesellschaftlichen und politischen Verhältnisse entsetzt.

1963 heirateten Carl und Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell und kehrten 1964 endgültig nach Europa zurück, als sich das erste der drei Kinder ankündigte; diese sollten nicht mit dem System der Apartheid aufwachsen. Nach der Erfahrung des zweiten Weltkrieges hatte Carl Schlettwein die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft aus „menschlichen und politischen Gründen“ abgegeben, aus den selben Gründen verliess er auch wieder Südafrika. Die Aufenthaltsbewilligung für den Südafrikaner Carl Schlettwein in der Schweiz konnte schlussendlich mit Hilfe des damaligen Basler Verkehrsdirektors Paul Gutzwiller und der Anstellung im Verkehrsverein erlangt werden.

Sammeltätigkeit in der Schweiz - Basler Afrika Bibliographien
Die Sammeltätigkeit ging in der Schweiz weiter, ab 1971 konnte sich Carl Schlettwein auf Arbeit in den Basler Afrika Bibliographien konzentrieren, die im gleichen Jahr in dem mittelalterlichen Tscheggenbürlins Hus am Klosterberg 21 in Basel, dem heutigen Sitz der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung, gegründet wurden. Ermöglicht wurde dies dank der Arbeit und der Umsicht sowie des daraus gewachsenen Vermögens des Ehepaars Margarethe und Rudolf Emil Gsell-Busse, einem 1962 verstorbenen Mitglied des Generaldirektoriums der Hoffmann-La Roche AG, den Eltern von Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell.

Neben der zunehmenden Sammel- und Publikationstätigkeit, sowie laufender Unterstützung von Studierenden, Einzelpersonen und Institutionen in Südafrika und Namibia galt ein Teil des Interesses und der Energie dem Aufbau wissenschaftlicher Strukturen zum Thema Afrika. So war Carl Schlettwein Mitbegründer der Schweizerischen Afrika-Gesellschaft und Initiant des Geomethodischen Colloquiums mit Prof. Hartmut Leser. Die Basler Afrika Bibliographien entwickelten sich zu einem wissenschaftlichen Archiv und einer Spezialbibliothek zu Namibia und dem südlichen Afrika, zum „Namibia Resource Centre – Southern Africa Library“.


Der Schritt an die Universität Basel war eine Frage der Zeit. 1997 erhielt Carl Schlettwein den Doktortitel honoris causa auf Grund seiner Verdienste für die akademische Auseinandersetzung mit Afrika. 2001 initiierte und finanzierte die zwischenzeitlich gegründete Carl Schlettwein Stiftung die Professur „Geschichte des südlichen Afrikas“ von Prof. Patrick Harries und legte so den Grundstein zur Bildung der heutigen African Studies an der Universität Basel. Seit 2005 hält das Zentrum für Afrikastudien Basel eine jährliche „distinguished Carl Schlettwein Lecture“.

Carl Schlettwein Stiftung
Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung wurde von Carl und Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell in Absprache und mit Zustimmung der Familie 1994 ins Leben gerufen, um die Basler Afrika Bibliographien zu führen und die Forschung zu Afrika, speziell Namibia, zu fördern. So sollen die Sammlungen weitergeführt werden, und die Basler Afrika Bibliographien ihre Rolle als wissenschaftliches Archiv, als Spezialbibliothek und als Dokumentationszentrum zum südlichen Afrika mit Schwerpunkt Namibia weiterhin und vermehrt ausüben können.

Der ursprünglichen Idee, der Stiftung den Namen „Carl und Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell Stiftung“ zu geben, wurde auf Wunsch von Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell nicht nachgegangen. Die Carl Schlettwein Stiftung fasst den Betrieb der Basler Afrika Bibliographien, die Unterstützung der akademischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem südlichen Afrika am Platz Basel und im internationalen Kontext, genauso wie die Unterstützung von Studierenden im südlichen Afrika in einem institutionellen Gefäss zusammen, und macht diese derart von Einzelpersonen unabhängig.

Dr. med. Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell ist 2010 aus dem Stiftungsrat der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung zurückgetreten. Sie begleitet und verfolgt die Tätigkeiten der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung und der Basler Afrika Bibliographien weiterhin mit grossem Engagement und Interesse.