History of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation



Thanks to Carl Schlettwein’s collecting activities and his encounters with people in the former German South-West Africa, virtual spaces for today’s Namibia have been around since the 1950s, long before the country’s official independence. With the founding of the Namibian state in 1990 and the rise of the “African movement” at the University of Basel, the prospects for expansion grew to include existing structures in Basel

____________________________________________________________________________

Collecting en route to an independent Namibia


____________________________________________________________________________

both in terms of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien and Carl Schlettwein’s personal situation as well as regarding efforts to reinforce and anchor people’s increasing interest in Africa at the University of Basel. The result of these two strands of development was the establishment of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation in 1994 and the integration of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien as a trademark within the Foundation. 


Further development of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien – collaboration with the University of Basel

In the next 10 years, the Basler Afrika Bibliographien evolved into a Namibia Resource Centre and a Southern Africa Library. Over the same period, both its holdings and its staff tripled and an additional piece of property was acquired. In addition, its collaboration with the University of Basel gave rise to a Chair of African History in 2001 and garnered recognition far beyond Basel’s city limits.

Carl Schlettwein died in 2005. As president of the Foundation and director of the Basler Afrika Bibliographien, he charted the course of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation until shortly before his death.


Consolidation of expertise and anchoring in an international context

Led by new Foundation President Jörg H. Schwarzenbach, the following years were characterised by the development of an organisational model for the Basler Afrika Bibliographien, consolidating its expertise and positioning it internationally under the direction of Luccio Schlettwein. 

As managing director of the Carl Schlettwein Foundation, Luccio Schlettwein acts as the executor and first point of contact for funding and support activities, in addition to overseeing administrative and financial matters.

Die Geschichte der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung


Durch Carl Schlettweins Sammeltätigkeit und seine Begegnungen mit den Menschen im damaligen Südwestafrika entstanden bereits seit den 1950er Jahren virtuelle Räume Namibias, noch vor der Unabhängigkeit des Landes.

Mit der Gründung des Staates Namibia 1990 und dem Erstarken der "afrikanischen Bewegung" an der Universität Basel erweiterte sich der Blick auf die vorhanden Strukturen in Basel;
________________________________________________________________________

Sammelnd unterwegs in ein unabhängiges Namibia

____________________________________________________________________________

sowohl in Bezug auf die Basler Afrika Bibliographien und die persönliche Situation von Carl Schlettwein, als auch auf die Bemühungen das wachsende Interesse für Afrika in der Universität Basel zu stärken und zu verankern. Das Resultat dieser beider Denkrichtungen war die Gründung der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung im Jahr 1994 und die Integration der Basler Afrika Bibliographien als Marke in die Stiftung.

Weiterentwicklung der Basler Afrika Bibliographien -Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Basel
In den folgenden 10 Jahren wurde aus den  Basler Afrika Bibliographien ein Namibia Resource Centre und eine Southern Africa Library. In dieser Zeit verdreifachten sich sowohl die inhaltlichen Bestände wie auch die Zahl der Mitarbeitenden und es konnte eine zusätzliche Liegenschaft bezogen werden. Andererseits erzielte die Zusammenarbeit mit der Uni Basel mit der Einrichtung der Professur für Afrikanische Geschichte 2001 ein weit über die Grenzen von Basel wahrgenommenes Resultat. 

2005 verstarb Carl Schlettwein. Er hatte die Geschicke der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung als Stiftungspräsident und Leiter der Basler Afrika Bibliographien bis kurz vor seinem Tod gelenkt.

Inhaltliche Konsolidierung und Verankerung in einem internationalen Kontext
Die kommenden Jahre standen unter dem neuen Stiftungsratspräsidenten Jörg H. Schwarzenbach im Zeichen der Entwicklung eines Organisationsmodells für die Basler Afrika Bibliographien, die unter der Leitung von Luccio Schlettwein, eine inhaltlichen Konsolidierung auf hohem Niveau sowie die Positionierung in einem internationalen Kontext vorantrieben. 

Luccio Schlettwein ist Geschäftsleiter der Carl Schlettwein Stiftung und damit ausführendes Organ und erste Anlaufstelle für die Förderungs- und Unterstützungstätigkeit, sowie verantwortlich für die administrativen und finanziellen Belange